Planning Commission

The Planning Commission, its members and staff, and access to meeting information and materials.

About the Commission

The Planning Commission consists of thirteen members. The following city officials are members: The President of the Board of Public Service and the Chairs of the Transportation and Housing, Urban Development and Zoning Committees of the Board of Aldermen. The Mayor, Comptroller and President of the Board of Aldermen each designate one member. The Mayor appoints the seven remaining members ("citizen members").The St. Louis Planning Commission adopts and amends the Strategic Land Use Plan of the St. Louis Comprehensive Plan for the City of St. Louis, Neighborhood Plans and Topical Plans.

The Commission adopts zoning ordinances and makes decisions on all rezoning petitions, thereby guiding the development and redevelopment of the City. It also reviews blighting studies and redevelopment plans before providing recommendations to the Board of Aldermen.

The Commission meets the first Wednesday of every month at 5:30 P.M. Meetings are held at the Planning & Urban Design Agency located at 1520 Market Street, 2nd floor, in Conference Room B and are open to the public unless otherwise posted.


David Visintainer (Chairman)
Alderwoman Lyda Krewson
Alderman Jeffrey Boyd
Patrick Brown
Denise Peeples
Michael Powers
Richard T. Bradley
Ametra Harris
Tracy Boaz
Earl Strauther, Jr. 

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events available.

View past events and meetings.

Planning Staff

The Planning Office of the Planning & Urban Design Agency (PDA), serves as the staff for the Planning Commission.

Board Secretary

Michelle Carter
Planning Commissioner Secretary and Administrative Assistant
(314) 657-3869
Email & full profile

Listen to the audio recordings of the Planning Commission meetings hosted on YouTube:

Major Responsibilities

  1. Adopts plans as the official adopted plans for the City of St. Louis 
  2. Acts as the Zoning Commission for the City of St. Louis by recommending zoning text and map changes.
  3. Reviews zoning including Zoning Overlay Districts (Form-Based Zoning Districts, CUP, PUD, SPD & SUD), redevelopment proposals and other proposed legislation for compliance with adopted plans
  4. Hears appeals of decisions by the Preservation Board and recommends Landmarks to the Preservation Board.
Name: Planning Commission
Phone: 3146573871
Toll Free Phone:
TTY Phone:
Other Phone:
Other Phone Label:
Contact Email:
Address 1: 1520 Market St. #2000
Address 2:
Contact City: St. Louis
Contact State: Missouri
Contact Zip: 63103
Hours of operation: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
External URL:
Facebook URL:
Twitter URL:
LinkedIn URL:
Nixle URL:
Public Meeting Accessibility Information:

Was this page helpful?      

Comments are helpful!
500 character limit

Feedback is anonymous.

9 comments from people like you have helped us improve this page.