City Historic Districts

Information about St. Louis Local Historic Districts including Ordinances, Standards and Maps

City or Local Historic Districts are created by Ordinance at the request of the Alderman and/or property owners in the district.  The designation process for local districts requires that a petition be filed: by the staff of the St. Louis Preservation Board; the Alderman of the ward with the proposed district; or by at least 10% of the property owners within it. After numerous public hearings, the Preservation Board and the Board of Aldermen must approve the petition for the district to be designated.

Each City historic district ordinance has a unique set of rehabilitation and design standards that were developed by neighborhood residents. All changes to building exteriors must be reviewed for compliance with each district's standards, usually by the Cultural Resources Office. For larger projects, review by the Preservation Board may be required.

The City has 18 local historic districts, 10 of which are Certified Local Historic Districts.  These districts have been determined by the Department of the Interior to be eligible for the National Register of Historic Places and have all the benefits of being listed in the Register.


For the most up-to-date map, please contact the Cultural Resources Office at (314) 657-3865.

Was this page helpful?      

Comments are helpful!
500 character limit

Feedback is anonymous.