Forest Park Advisory Board

Reviews Park improvement projects and monitors compliance with the Master Plan for all major park projects


The Forest Park Advisory Board (FPAB) was established by St. Louis City Ordinance 63769 on April 15, 1996 in order to provide ongoing citizen input into the implementation of the Forest Park Master Plan.

The FPAB has 15 voting members appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Board of Aldermen, up to 5 non-voting advisory members and 7 ex-officio members including the Parks Commissioner, the Executive Director of Forest Park Forever, the Aldermen of any ward in which any part of Forest Park is located, the Chairman of the Parks Committee of the Board of Aldermen, and the Director of the Planning & Urban Design Agency.  The appointed members serve on a voluntary basis and represent an array of interests and areas of expertise in the community.

The Advisory Board’s primary role is to review Park improvement projects and monitor compliance with the Master Plan for all major park projects, both privately-funded and City-funded.  The Board is part of a larger ongoing public review process, and as such reviews each proposed project at three stages during the project’s design.

In addition, the FPAB reviews and reports on Proposed Physical Changes which are as defined in Ordinance 63769 - any proposed expansion, modification, replacement, relocation, adaptive re-use, or removal of existing buildings, roads, parking lots, paths, recreation areas or natural areas. The Advisory Board determines whether the proposed physical change is significant or minor, consistent, inconsistent or not addressed by the Master Plan, and, if not addressed by the Master Plan, whether the proposed physical change is beneficial to Forest Park. The Board makes recommendations to the Director of Parks, Recreation and Forestry.

The Advisory Board generally meets the third Thursday of the month, at 4:30 PM in the Dennis and Judith Jones Visitor and Education Center. These meetings are open to the public. Advance notification of the meeting and agenda are posted at the door of the Parks Administration Building, south of the Jewel Box and at the Visitor and Education Center. Persons wishing to address the Board may sign up prior to the start of the meeting to do so.

For inquiries, please contact the City of St. Louis Department of Parks, Recreation and Forestry at 314-289-5310.

Advisory Board Members

Current Members

Emily Andrews - Environmental Representative

Tracy Boaz - Ecology and Natural Resources Representative

Sena Dawes - Zoo/Museum District Representative

Stephen Ibendahl - Landscape Architecture Representative

Anne Kasal - Lease/Permit Holders Representative

Dennice Kowelman - Urban Design Representative

Thomas Milford - Neighborhood Representative

Andre Walker - Amateur Sports Representative

Deborah Dolgin - At-Large Member

Sally Nikolajevich - At-Large Member

Francis Oates - At-Large Member

Kurt Odendahl – At-Large Member

Arthur Perry - At-Large Member

Leata Price-Land - At-Large Member

Andrew Schwartz - At-Large Member

Ex-Officio Members

Shane Cohn - Chair, Parks & Environmental Matters Committee

Kim Haegele - Commissioner of Parks

Kelly Harris - 17th Ward Alderman Designee

Frank Kartmann - Forest Park Forever Executive Designee

Bret Narayan - 24th Ward Alderman

Heather Navarro - 28th Ward Alderwoman

Don Roe - Director of Planning and Urban Design

Non-Voting Members

C. Anthony Arington

Ann Liberman

May Brown Raey

Gary Krosch

Current Forest Park Advisory Board Chair

2018 - Present - Gary Krosch 

Past Forest Park Advisory Board Chairs

1996 - 2000 - Joe Bergfeld

2001 - 2004 - Jean Cowell

2004 - 2007 - Gentry Sayad

2007 - 2009 - Mike Murray

2009 - 2011 - Deborah Dolgin

2011 - 2013 - Karen Goering

2013 - 2015 - Emily Andrews

2015 - 2018 - Sally Nikolajevich

Upcoming Events

These events are coming up soon. You can also View past meetings

Thursday, Dec 15, 2022

Forest Park Advisory Board
Department of Parks, Recreation, and Forestry | Meeting | 4:30 PM

Was this page helpful?      

Comments are helpful!
500 character limit

Feedback is anonymous.