This article is 2 years old. It was published on March 9, 2020.
The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) clinical criteria for a COVID-19 person under investigation have been developed based on what is known about COVID-19 and are subject to change as additional information becomes available.
As availability of diagnostic testing for COVID-19 increases, clinicians will be able to access laboratory tests for diagnosing COVID-19 through clinical laboratories performing tests authorized by FDA under an Emergency Use Authorization (EUA). Clinicians will also be able to access laboratory testing through public health laboratories in their jurisdictions.
Medical providers are being reminded to contact their local health department if their patient meets CDC criteria for testing.
Persons in Missouri who meet CDC criteria will be able to obtain testing through the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services. All requests should be submitted through your local health department.
Testing for persons who do not meet the CDC's criteria for testing for COVID-19 is available from private laboratories. However, at this time in the state of Missouri, the person requesting testing will be responsible for covering any cost(s) associated with the testing.
Flow Charts for Testing
Patient presents with symptoms Medical provider conducts evaluation and determines risk for COVID-19 Patient meets CDC criteria Contact local health department to report information and request testing Local Health Department provides medical provider with test kit and coordinates shipment of specimen(s) to the state for testing State tests clinical sample and provides local health department and provider with results (estimated TAT 2-5 business days)
Patient presents with symptoms If patient does not meet CDC criteria Medical provider informs patient that they can be tested, but they will have to cover the cost Patient requests testing Medical provider collects clinical sample and submits to a private laboratory Laboratory completes testing and provides results to the medical provider
Patient presents with symptoms If patient does not meet CDC criteria Provider informs patient that they can be tested, but they will have to cover the cost Patient decides to not get tested Medical provider gives guidance and preventive measures
Epidemiologic factors that may help guide decisions on whether to test include: any persons, including healthcare workers, who have had close contact with a laboratory-confirmed COVID-19 patient within 14 days of symptom onset, or a history of travel from affected geographic areas impacted by COVID-19 within 14 days of symptom onset.
Link to CDC guidance for evaluating and reporting persons under investigation for COVID-19 and criteria to guide evaluation of persons under investigation for COVID-19: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/clinical-criteria.html
Division of Health
Immunizations and Public Health
Most Read News
- St. Louis Board of Election Commissioners Announces Vote Centers for September 13 Special Municipal Primary Election, Reminds City Residents about New State Voting Laws Learn about the Pilot 15 Vote Centers and the 5 no-excuse absentee voting locations running from August 30 through September 12, 2022